Here are some more common ingredients found in your average bathroom products and what they really are:

*Benzoic Acid- while found in some plants, it is primarily derived from animal vertebrates. It is used as a preservative in mouthwashes, deoderants, skin creams, and fragrances.

*Carmine, cochineal, or carminic acid- red pigment from the crushed female cochineal beetle. Reportedly 70,000 beetles must be killed to produce one pound of this red dye.

*Cetyl alcohol- This wax can be derived from sperm whale, dolphins, or plants. Look for the products that specify "vegetable" or "coconut" sources.

*Glycerin- a by product of soap manufacturing using animal fat. Look for products that specify "vegetable glycerin"

*Keratin- protein from the ground up horns, hooves, feathers, and hair of various animals (often found in hair care products to produce shine)

*Royal Jelly- secretion from the throats of worker bees that is fed to larvae in the colony.

*Silk Powder- obtained from the secretion of the silkworm and used in powdered cosmetics

*Stearic Acid- fat from cows, pigs, sheep, and pets euthanized in animal shelters.

*Urea- excerted from animal urine and other bodily fluids.

in food products, watch out for "Gelatin"-- this is the main ingredient found in "Jello", most candies have gelatin and even desserts! Gelatin IS from the boiled bones, skins and tendons of animals!!! YUCK :p

Views: 69

Replies to This Discussion

This is good to know! I know I've seen some of these in many moisturizers.
oh yeah they are in almost ALL of them! Glycerin is usually the number two product (they list in order of majority)
wow....who knew? I was aware of the jello having animal of some sort in it, and I do not eat it ever, but I didnt know it was the boiled bones, skins and tendons...that is repulsive! And they serve that in hospitals to sick people :s
I knew about some of these from my days working with butchers, but some of this information is new to me. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Bravo!!!!! Very Nice very True!!!!!! :-) I teach a class about these !!!

Thank YOU
If you're taking medicine in capsule form - powder in something that looks like an oval plastic bubble - quite often this capsule is made of gelatine (and therefore an animal product).

On the subject of gelatine: for those of you nostalgic for Jello, or wanting to try a recipe that calls for gelatine, you can use agar agar, from a seaweed, as a vegan alternative.


‎"Why should there be hunger and deprivation in any land, in any city, at any table, when man has the resources and the scientific know-how to provide all mankind with the basic necessities of life?"
~Martin Luther King, Jr.



We Love Planet EarthPetition for more Positive News & Basic Needs for All


Woke Up Alive, Promises & Peace Pilgrim

© 2024   Created by MyPeace Media.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service